FRENCH BEAN CHICKPEAS SALAD

french-bean-and-chickpea-salad

Health is a matter of concern for all of us. We want to be healthy and be able to live healthy life. I once visited a dietitian in 2013. She gave me a combination of food chart with 2 or 3 options. Like 2 options for breakfast, 3 options each for lunch and dinner, then in between snacks options which I had to follow. How many days one can survive on such a chart? I can’t….

I was actually eating according to the rules and guidelines given by my dietitian without really pausing to notice how I actually feel when I was eating that way. “Eat food that makes you feel good”.

So I started my research on healthy food, which should be tasty and most importantly which fit to my palate. Why should I “consume” blanched vegetables in the name of healthy salads? When a simple dressing on it can give it a much needed exiting twist to it…

french-bean-and-chickpea-salad21

French bean and chickpeas salad it’s a beautiful salad with a honey and mustard dressing. There are few other ingredients like lettuces, sweet corn and onions in this salad. I used the red onions, which I peeled and sliced then mixed in lemon juice and kept it for some time.

French Beans Chickpeas Salad Recipe


Ingredients

  • ½ kg French Beans Fresh
  • ½ cup Chickpeas Canned
  • ¼ cup Corn Sweet Canned
  • 1 Onion Sliced
  • Few lettuces to layer
  • ¼ cup Dijon Mustard
  • ¼ cup Honey
  • 1 Clove Garlic Minced
  • 1 tsp. chilli Flakes
  • 1 Lemon Juice
  • 1 tsp. Salt

Instructions

  1. Mix lemon juice with sliced onion and kept it aside for some time.
  2. In a double boiler-steamer place the green beans and cook for 6-8 minutes.
  3. Run cold water over them when they are tender so that they don’t keep cooking.
  4. Drain chickpeas and corn and keep it aside.
  5. In a large mixing bowl, add beans, chickpeas and corn.
  6. Drain the sliced onion from lemon juice and add it with vegetables.
  7. In another bowl mix lemon juice, Dijon mustard, honey, garlic, chilli flakes and salt and mix well to combine.
  8. Add the dressing with green beans and vegetable, mix through.
  9. Serve layering lettuces.

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. recipeboxgal says:

    I’m definitely saving this recipe. I’ve been putting chickpeas in everything lately—they’re so good and packed with protein!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

